

Anti Defection Law



The anti-defection law punishes individual Members of Parliament (MPs)/MLAs for leaving one party for another.

Parliament added

Schedule in 1985

anti-defection Law to the

Constitution as the Tenth

from changing parties. Tenth Schedule

The Tenth Schedule -

discouraging legislators

It aimed to bring stability

to governments by

Anti-Defection Act - was

popularly known as the

- included in the Constitution via the 52nd Amendment Act, 1985 and sets the provisions for disqualification of elected members on the grounds of defection to another political party. It was a response to the toppling of multiple state governments by party-hopping MLAs after
- 1967. **Exceptions** ✓ It allows a group of MP/MLAs to join (i.e.

merge with) another

political party without

the general elections of

inviting the penalty for defection. And it does not penalise political parties for encouraging or accepting defecting legislators. Condition: At least two-thirds of the members

of a party have to be in

The members disqualified

under the law can stand

for elections from any

of the law.

favour of a "merger" for it

to have validity in the eyes

political party for a seat in the same House. The decision on disqualification on the ground of defection are referred to the Chairman or the Speaker of such

House, which is subject to

'Judicial review'.

Grounds of Disqualification ✓ If an elected member voluntarily gives up his

membership of a political

party.

- If he votes or abstains from voting in such House contrary to any direction issued by his political party or anyone authorised to do
- so, without obtaining prior permission. As a pre-condition for his disqualification, his abstention from voting should not be condoned by his party or the authorised
- person within 15 days of such incident. If any independently elected member joins any
- political party. If any nominated member joins any political party after the expiry of six

months.